The Foolishness of Faith

In an effort to write more, I will try to set a goal for this month to write a couple of short blogs on some scriptures that are on my heart. This first one has been a go to chapter for the last couple of months as I have been seeking God’s direction in various areas in my life and ministry.

I love this chapter, but due to time I will post the first 6 verses but for now I will only focus on two verses

 To thee, O Lord, I lift up my soul. 2 O my God, in thee I trust,
let me not be put to shame;
let not my enemies exult over me. 3 Yea, let none that wait for thee be put to shame;
let them be ashamed who are wantonly treacherous.
 4 Make me to know thy ways, O Lord;
teach me thy paths.
 5 Lead me in thy truth, and teach me,
for thou art the God of my salvation;
for thee I wait all the day long.
 

The Psalmist opens up with a plea for Jehovah, the God of the covenant to hear his cry and to not let his enemies rejoice in his low state of affairs.”Oh Lord let me not be ashamed”. This has been a prayer of mine many times. How often have we cried out to the Lord and said, “Lord I’m trusting in you, please don’t let me down. If you let me down, what will your enemies say”. I’m reminded of Noah and his building of this huge ark. After laboring for years, his neighbors, friends and family ridiculing him, questioning him and taunting him, telling him he was a idiot for dedicating his life to this crazy God. “You are a fool Noah, we never will need such a boat, It never has rained a day in all of creation and you are telling us to stop the way we are living because this God is angry. Puleaase!, you can go to where the sun don’t shine you and your God.”

But what does scripture say about Noah,

By faith Noah, being warned by God concerning events as yet unseen, took heed and constructed an ark for the saving of his household; by this he condemned the world and became an heir of the righteousness which comes by faith. (Hebrews 11:7)

I’m sure Noah thought and prayed the prayer, “God you better be right or I will look like a fool, and you will too. Let not my enemies be right”. Noah did not know when the flood was going to come, but he had an idea that it wouldn’t until his work was finished. That’s cold, you want to talk about wanting confirmation, Its possible that there was not even a drop that fell from the sky until the ark was finished.” Oh Lord can you just show me by having these clouds drop some rain”.  Yet despite all of this he obeyed and continued building. I’m sure his kids if they were like kids today complained,  “Dad why are you making us build this stupid boat”. Yet he had to remain faithful, because the Lord called him to that work. There are times where our faith will cause us to look foolish to the world. People will not understand why we make certain decisions, live our lives certain ways, and will mock and ridicule us because they do not understand the language of faith. David’s cry is for God to hear and vindicate his servants because even though we have obeyed or taken steps of faith there are times where we look like we are losing and have made the wrong decision. It is here that we take up the cry, Lord I didn’t do this on my own accord, I thought I was following you. Lord let not my enemies critiques prove to be true. I’m sure some of you are reading, and have experienced criticisms from some people close to you. You may be thinking they should be supportive, after all they are supposed to be  your friend, or family.  At times even one’s family will not understand, and we are left only to trust in God.

So if you are experiencing doubt, or having trouble understanding God’s reasoning you are in good hands. Its okay to let God know. Sometimes you will look like a fool. 

Paul echoed this statement in his letter to the Corinthians when he describes the apostles as

” fools for Christ’s sake”

 Make this your prayer, Lord let not my enemies triumph over me, for I am putting my trust in you. The key is that your trust remains in God.

In closing I want to remind you of a popular verse that has comforted me at times when I was second guessing whether I heard God because of how things looked.

5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,

and do not rely on your own insight. 6 In all your ways acknowledge him,

and he will make straight your paths. 7

God has given us principles to live by. His word is his blueprint for our lives. Consult it, study it, and live by it because even when the way looks crooked, he has the ability to make it straight.

In Christ, the Herald.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

