New years resolution for my brothers and sisters in the East: Answering the Call

pray

We are already a couple of days in the new year, and like most new year beginnings I’ve reflected on the things that I want to do differently in the upcoming year. Sometimes when I survey all the things I want to improve on( which is everything) it makes me wonder what did I do that I am actually satisfied with. This can be a good thing. One of the things that I guess I’m working on by blogging this is my goal to write more.  I know there will be times when I will simply not want to write, and other times where I’m inspired to write something at four o clock in the morning. The key to all resolutions can be found in this verse here.

It is of the Lord‘s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.

23 They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.

Thank God for his mercies. Each day is a gift from God. We are not promised tomorrow, not even next year. We can not fast forward and complete our resolutions. There will be times when you mess up, fall short, fall flat, or even feel like giving up. But praise God for a new day. Each day is a chance to get back on your feet. The old has passed away, and the new has come. Do not bring yesterday’s garbage into today’s kitchen. Yesterday’s failure does not matter, what matters is your today. Today if you hear his voice harden not your hearts. The greatest resolution is to respond to the calling of Jesus. Jesus says, “Come to me all ye who labor and are heavy laden”. What sins have you burdened down? What mistakes have you made that keep you from sleeping, from moving on? God calls you to seek him while he may be found. Today might be that last day, but please I plead with you do not resist his invitation. He invites you on a grand journey. It is a daily invitation to follow him. You cannot rest on the fact that you followed him in the past, not on your deeds that you did yesteryear. Lo he invites you further, he beckons you deeper. Do not quench the sound of his voice. The Lord Jesus is speaking, he is sending you signs and signals. He has directed you to read this and to respond.

I will close with a verse from the last book in the Bible. Revelations 3:20

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

The Lord does not play ding dong ditch. He gives you enough time to respond. Yet he will not stand knocking forever. Invite him in while he stands at the door of your heart. How do you invite him you ask?

You simply call on the Lord, you ask him to save you. ” Lord save me, I am a sinner in need of a savior. I believe that you sent your son Jesus to die for my sins. I believe Jesus died for me, and that he rose again with all power in hhand. Savior do not pass me by. Have mercy on me.”

The first step to being saved is to acknowledge that your life is in danger, and that it is in need of being rescued by no one but God. The second step is to call on him to save you. The third step is to follow him daily.

This is definitely not what I intended to write, but I know that this is for someone. Please email me, or make a comment if this is for you. I’d like to help you in your journey. I have been praying for you. God has been waiting for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under heaven, hell, islam, life, new years

Leave a Reply

